And what a beautiful sight…

Posted: May 11, 2013 in My Opinion
Tags: , , , , , ,

This is how I would describe the scene of my wife and daughter laying beside me on our bed. Our daughter, Bianca, is two weeks old and has been an amazing joy for us. Andrea and I had been trying to have a baby for some time now. After numerous attempts and disappointments, our prayers had been answered.

We had our little girl.

Since bringing her home, we have been having newborn moments. In the end though, it is all about adjustments. The biggest adjustment for us was that it was no longer just Andrea and me but now it is Andrea, me, and Bianca!

Like anything else in life, change can be challenging yet also have the greatest rewards. Bianca has only been with us for two weeks now but I would never exchange anything for those moments that I have spent with my daughter.

Importantly, I love my wife more on a whole new level. Seeing her with Bianca fills me with such joy and warms my heart. I do not know where I would be without Andrea.

What inspired me to write this post was one of those “newborn” moments that I mentioned. Bianca was a little cranky after eating. I laid her next to Andrea on the bed and then she started to sing to Bianca. This seemed to quiet her for a little bit, then she started to be a little cranky.

“Help!” Andrea said to me.

Then, I went to the other room and pulled out one of my favorite children’s stories “Corduroy”. This was the story about the teddy bear, Corduroy, who lived in a department store waiting to be bought by someone to love him which did eventually happened.

I then started to read to Bianca and Andrea. The book itself is not very long (which children’s book is?). Yet, one thing I noticed was Bianca’s crying started to subside and by the time I had finished reading the book my two angels were asleep.

Bianca laid peacefully in the arms of her mother. There is no more beautiful a sight than to see mother and daughter laying lovingly together.

And that is a beautiful sight.

Comments
  1. Oh, I love it that you’ve fallen more in love with your wife experiencing parenthood with her. It is so neat hearing thoughts of the heart – from men. Congratulations on Fatherhood.

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/20-things-i-consider-sacred/

Leave a Reply

